top of page
Search

2023 season previews

Updated: Mar 15, 2023

Contributor: The Nerd


The Nerds teamed with Patrick Grosserode and Axtell distance runner Tyler Hanson to write season previews for every individual track event held at the Nebraska State track meet. For surfing simplicity, we're posting here all the info you need to be a better-informed track fan in 2023.


Previews

High jump (3/7/23)

Pole vault (3/8/23)

Long jump (3/9/23)

Triple jump (3/10/23)

Shot put (3/12/23)

Discus throw (3/13/23)

Hurdles (3/11/23)

Sprints (3/12/23)


Yes, Dorothy, Nebraska does have a busy winter meet schedule and that often gives a hint about who will perform well in the spring. This link summarizes the best performances by event.


We think that competing in college is the bees knees - not because of the athletic glory but because of the camaraderie, discipline and memories you'll get. If we've missed you on the commitment list, shoot us a DM or e-mail to jayslagle@hotmail.com.


Every weekend during the season, we ask our Twitter and Facebook followers to give us the meet they'll be attending that week and for which team(s) they follow. That helps us build a weekly meet schedule, and that schedule helps us chase down results AND helps our 17 volunteer photographers decide where they'll go that week. Once the Nerds pick where they're going, we update the schedule to reflect that.


Give us a follow on one or both socials; we promise we'll do you a solid and give you the best T&F content you'll find anywhere.


Did we mention that we all do this as a hobby? Yeah, it's kind of gotten out of control.


*********


Like this coverage of Nebraska high school distance running? There's more of this at www.preprunningnerd.com. Check out the Blog tab for our frequent stories, the Articles tab for long-form articles, the Results tab for every Nebraska high school race we could find this year, and the Rankings tab for team and individual rankings. If you want to see meet photos or just need to kill a few hours on social media, follow us on Twitter @PrepRunningNerd or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/preprunningnerd.


Finally, if you think runners, jumpers and throwers are the best things on earth, you'll enjoy our two most popular articles. In 2018 we published "The Runner with the Broken Heart" about a high school boy who finished last in nearly every race he ran. In 2022 we published, "The Fall and Rise of Emmett Hassenstab," a story about a high school triple jumper who became a quadrapalegic after a swimming accident.


2,060 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page